Your university/college experience

GivenToFly

What was (or is, for those who are students at this moment) your experience with University (or college, for American posters)? I'm asking that mainly because I'm almost done with my degree (about a month left, but then I'm doing a masters so I'm not entirely done with studying) and, while I'm happy with the practical aspects (regarding the degree, knowledge attained and career prospects) the so called "uni life" (or college life, if you prefer) didn't quite happen as advertised.

So just, I don't know, talk about your university experience, reminisce or whatever...

To be honest I found it frustrating. So many people are there and really shouldn't be. It felt like I was one of few that took it seriously.I did it when I was older which probably had something to do with it.

As for the social side of things, I really didn't have that much free time. All in all it was frustrating but rewarding.

I'm only in first year, doing a biology degree, but I was generally shocked at how easy the semester one exams were.

I just started revising a week before the exams started and went over my 15 lectures worth of notes per module and they were a doddle.

Easier than high school even, although I never really revised for them to be honest, and just scraped the grades.

I got into a relatively good university (Newcastle, which is 20th or 12th in the English tables depending on which newspaper you read) and expected other people to be real 'try-hards', but it turned out that's simply not the case. It's a piss about and everybody knows it. Exams are very similar every year, so just take a look at the practice exam questions and your sorted.