Solos you're trying to learn.

• 4 weeks later...

With stuff like Don't Cry or Patience I've never bothered to learn the arpeggios exact to the album. For one, I don't think Slash ever played the same thing twice. He seemed to have a few basic shapes and chord voices that he would keep consistent and play around with. I tend to learn the voicings and go from there, staying semi-true to the album but not worrying too much about hitting the exact bits everywhere. Solos I'm a bit more picky on but I'm never afraid of adding my own bits as long as it doesn't sound like I'm cheating my way out of a more difficult part or something.

Chord voices, eh? I have little knowledge on it, so I'm stuck here trying to memorize every note :(

At least I finished learning till that sliding lick on the first chorus, just a little more and I finish the first riff.

Unfortunately, the next verse, instead of being a repetition of the intro and the first verse, that is actually a bit different from the intro because the second arpeggio ends with an unfretted 4th string, while the intro ends with the 5th.

The next riff is also totally different and so on...

I very much prefer the way bands like MetallicA and AiC make their song structures. have nice riffs and lines for your song and repeat them throughout the whole song, then put a solo.

Yeah I basically never try to do a solo exactly note to note. Even when I'm learning stuff from a Satriani tab book my dad gave me a few years ago, it is just not possible to replicate his solos without a whammy bar.

That being said, it can be extremely helpful to intentionally learn to play something just like it was originally played. It's a way of adding new licks to your arsenal, and getting to think a bit like the original writer of the piece. :)

Chord voices, eh? I have little knowledge on it, so I'm stuck here trying to memorize every note :(