Going to try to start learning acousic...

Alright so, I'm gonna be that guy and start learning some acoustic guitar. A couple of my friends play, and it's cool to sing along when they do at parties, but it'd be nice to join in as well.

I literally know nothing about reading music, chords, tabs, etc. Anything.

So, for those that actually know about this stuff, where should I start? Any absolute BEGINNER videos you could recommend on YouTube, or even any songs? Literally every video I try to find for a "Beginner Song" starts off with "Okay, so in this we're gonna use a G chord and a D chord", or something along those lines, and I'm like - "K". Even the ones with the pictures to show you finger placement, I still am like "Wat".

So pls, halp.

• Like 1

First thing you need to do is memorize the damn chords and frets and where they are on the guitar. eadgbe. recite it.

guitar-fretboard-open-strings.jpg

Practice some basic power chords and riffs, can't go wrong starting off with some Nirvana songs. Get good with multiple riffs then practice on trying to complete an entire song. Repetition is the key.

Okay - crash course in tablature. When you read it, imagine you're looking at the neck of the guitar from above it; the top line will be your high E string, and the bottom line will be your low E string. The numbers on the lines represent what fret you should have that string pressed down on. So for example, your open E chord would look like this:

e ---0---

b ---0---

g ---1---

d ---2---

a ---2---

e ---0---

On the guitar, that looks like this:

670px-Play-an-E-Major-Chord-on-a-Guitar-

There's open chords and barre chords. A barre chord is essentially an open E that moves up the fretboard. So a barre F would look like:

e ---1---

b ---1---

g ---2---

d ---3---

a ---3---

e ---1---