How have your musical tastes changed over the years?

The Real McCoy

If they have at all over the years?

The Stray Cats were my first favorite band. For whatever reason, my dad picked them as the band to introduce me to music. Still love them, and Brian Setzer will always be my #1 guitar hero.

From there, I discovered Aerosmith, which eventually led to GNR, which eventually led (unfortunately) to hair metal.

That is pretty much ALL that I listened to in high school (keep in mind that I graduated in 2004), and it's honestly pretty embarrassing to me these days. I look at my CD collection and have no idea what I was thinking. May need to get rid of a lot of that stuff in the near future. I don't listen to it anymore. It's all just taking up space.

Obviously, most of you know that I've been working in country radio for 8 years now, and that honestly has become my favorite genre at this point. Getting to know the artists and songs on that level makes it easy. And to be fair, today's country is more rock that today's rock is.

I've also gotten in to '90s radio rock / alternative a lot in the past few years. Been revisiting a lot of songs that I loved when I was younger, and I've been learning more about the artists/bands as I go along.

That said, I'll keep it country all day, every day at this point unless it's Aerosmith/GNR/Etc.

How about ya'all?

Edited by The Real McCoy