Audio engineering thread!

niceguy

As requested by MrSoftie, I'm creating an audio engineering thread.

I like being anonymous (and I spew a lot of smack-talk about Axl lol), so while I won't divulge my engineering credits, it will become very clear that I do have a decent knowledge of audio engineering.

Ask away!

• Like 3

ok, I'll start :)

First of all, thank you for taking the time to do this.

My question is: I'd like to get a small midi keyboard to be hooked to my computer. Something that would allow me to play some notes on my input track and then switching between vst instruments trying to find the most suitable sound for that part. I'm not a pro and my budget is quite tight, I'm actually a bass player just messing around with cubase to record some demos and ideas (i would use the keyboard to play stuff in the vein of new wave, 80s synthpop etc). Any advices on what would be good to start with? And would a keyboard like that be a good choice or should i get a real synth like a korg or something?

I'd actually like to know more about mixing as you mentioned the other day, how CD is so claustrophobic. How do I mix correctly/improve what I'm doing?

And while we're at it I'm still not clear what the difference between mixing and mastering is :D

ok, I'll start :)

First of all, thank you for taking the time to do this.

My question is: I'd like to get a small midi keyboard to be hooked to my computer. Something that would allow me to play some notes on my input track and then switching between vst instruments trying to find the most suitable sound for that part. I'm not a pro and my budget is quite tight, I'm actually a bass player just messing around with cubase to record some demos and ideas (i would use the keyboard to play stuff in the vein of new wave, 80s synthpop etc). Any advices on what would be good to start with? And would a keyboard like that be a good choice or should i get a real synth like a korg or something?