Buckethead Recommendations, Please!

BetterDay7

Okay, as a relative Newbie I've become quite interested in Buckethead and would like to start buying some of his solo stuff.

I haven't a clue where to start! I've read a bit about him, people raving about his playing and thought I'd give him a whirl.

Musically, I like... deep breath... David Bowie, Kate Bush, G nR (obvs), Genesis (up to Duke but not much after), Michael Jackson, hip hop, Marvin Gaye, Blur, Led Zepp, AC/DC (Bon Scott era), some ambient stuff, some jazz, quite a lot of classical, esp classical guitar...

I know that's a mish mash but any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

:wacko:

Edited by BetterDay7

All of his stuff is amazing, his music just blows ur mind, try to listen to his songs on youtube

Search for Welcome to Buckethead Land, Jordan, Nottingham lace, I love my parents, For mom, Soothsayer

He is releasing pikes like every week, it has some amazing music

If he stayed in GNR he could have a lot of stuff, such a shame Axl doesn't knows how to handle people or well he doesn't even knows how to handle himself

• Like 2

I prefer his older regular albums to the Pikes series. Soothsayer is one of the best songs of all time. Buckethead is amazing.

Agreed. But Maggot Brain is the best song of all time. (instrumental division) I like his recent There Was A Time-like solo though. Highlight part is from 6:00 to the 6:45 mark.

Also from 7:28 to 7:45

And from the 10:00 minute mark he's just all bluesy greatness. BetterDay7: please follow these instructions closely for maximum effect.

Edited by Rovim
  • Like 1

I like his more chilled out stuff.

Coat of Charms (the whole album)

Colma (the song Whitewash in particularly)

Electric Tears

Final Bend of the Labyrinth (the whole thing)

Infiniti Hill (more alternative rock influenced than chilled)

Monument Valley

Oh, boy, so much shit to post. Hopefully I'll remember most of them.

Let's see...

King James