Classical Recommendations

Dan H.

I've been listening to Chopin a lot recently and have really been enjoying it. Kinda looking to spread out into some other classical artists, but I really just don't know where to begin.

Does anyone have recommendations for good composers or classical artists? What should I be listening for? Help!

What do you prefer? Sonatos? Chamber music or larger orchestral works? Off the top of my head these are some larger works,

Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto

Schubert's 8th (unfinished) and 9th symphonies. His 5th is also a delightful, underrated, piece.

Beethoven's 3rd (Eroica), 5th, and 9th symphonies (the starting place really)

Mozart's Piano concertos (anywhere you dwell there is genius to be found).

Elgar's (the chap in my picture) cello concerto

• Like 1

I don't know what I prefer yet, this is my first time jumping into classical music. I mean I like Chopin a lot, but I could see myself really enjoying larger arrangements and more instruments too

I'll check those recommendations out and see what grabs my attention, thanks Diez

Edited by Dan H.

If you like Chopin (and I'm a huge fan as well, my favourite two songs to play on the piano are Nocturne No. 1 in Bb Minor and Nocturne No. in Eb Major), perhaps check out Claude Debussy, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Sergei Rachmaninoff, and fellow Polish composer Karol Szymanowski.  

I'm a melody junkie so I'm usually drawn to classical material with strong melody structures.  With that in mind, there are a few Operas that I really like, particularly Carmen by Georges Bizet, La Traviata by Giuseppe Verdi, and Turandot by Giacomo Puccini (mainly because of the aria Nessun Dorma, best sung, in my opinion, by Placido Domingo).  

I really like Wagner though his stuff is a bit...how can i put this?  Deep end.  I don't claim to know every fuckin' thing about it, i just like the way it sounds.  Beethoven is also a favourite.  Shostakovich is another.

6 hours ago, downzy said: