Is it really possible to unbiasedly gauge CD's success, or lack thereof, by simply looking at album sales?

I'm not an expert in the music business and I don't even research into how much albums I'm really into have actually sold. You know, I'm just the guy that patiently waits for albums to be released and then I go down to the store and spend my hard-earned money to buy the damned thing… or I'll get it on iTunes… or just download the whole thing. My point is, I'm just a consumer.

However, there are plenty of threads here discussing if CD was successful or not. As I've said before, all I know is that I do like it now. More than half of the songs on CD are good and worth my time. That's all I know. So in my book, yes. It was successful. In my world it was.

BUT...

When I peruse the threads about CD, it becomes pretty obvious that album sales are usually the biggest argument that comes up supporting the notion that yes, CD was a huge success.

My question is though: is it possible to gauge CD's success, or any other album's success for that matter, by looking at sales? Let me put it this way and I hope I don't sound like an idiot or some retard.

How many people are GnR fans around the world? I've no idea. But, for the sake of argument, let's go with a 100% totally random/made-up number I just pulled out of my hairy ass: 5,000,000.

If every single one of those GnR fans buys one album for himself/herself, the album will have sold 5,000,000 copies. Right? That does not mean though that they will have liked it. They bought it because they're fans. But maybe they got home and listened to it and decided they were never gonna listen to it again.

So unless I am missing something here, and I know I am, going by sales doesn't really give you an accurate picture of an album's success.