Zep "tuned down" - would it work for Axl/Guns?

When Zeppelin got together for the Celebration Day concert, the band was required to “tune down a step” to better accommodate Plant’s aging voice. Now I’m not a musician so I don’t fully understand what it means that the band "tuned down a step" (maybe the musicians on the board can elaborate on that), but it seemed to work for the most part when Zep did it. Would something similar work for Guns? As Axl’s voice has and will continue to deteriorate (which is normal and unavoidable as one ages) do you see Gun’s new music being created with this in mind, and are there ways in which the already existing music might be tweaked when played live to better accommodate Axl’s vocals (at least at those times when he seems to be struggling to hit some of the notes)? Is the band already doing this and I just haven’t noticed?

I know that in my heart of hearts Guns N' Roses/Sweet Child O' Mine's in Eb, tuned half a step down from E, or is it?

I've found that moving a whole fret up (how one achieve's the transition from Eb to E) gets me playing Sweet Child O' Mine... It's like I know the song, what I knew was okay, move it up a fret and I'm playing it...

Or maybe it was just a backing track in E instead of Eb?

I forget right now but I was wondering about this last week.

Edited by Snake-Pit

A tone and a half down would make the songs sound very sludgy. a better option is to transpose the songs into a different key without down tuning. As a few of you said, Axl still hits the high notes - that's not the issue, like it was for Robert during celebration day.