Piano/Music Help

I'm relatively new to the piano and I am working my way though playing November Rain.  However, there has always been an Axl piano solo from 1993 that I really liked and would love to know how to play it:

I've tried to figure it out myself, but I'm finding it challenging, especially with him tuned down half a step.  Can anyone help me with the basics as to how he is playing each hand?  For example, is the left hand playing octaves only or something else?  How is the right hand melody done?

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

For the first piece, on the left hand, hes only playing octaves at the same, and at the end of every bar he hits the lower octave then the higher one.

For the right hand, just get the basic single note melody down first, and then hear the "other" notes that hes playing underneath it

Edited by Mendez

1 hour ago, loosecannon3 said:

OK thanks.  I will try to see if I can make that work.

What do you mean at the end of each bar he hits the lower octave and then the higher?  He hits the low F and then the higher F for example?

Yes, its hard to explain. At the end of each bar, gis pinky hits, then his thumb. So hes playing octaves together, then seperately. Just look at his left hand and in sure youll see what i mean

1 hour ago, Mendez said:

Yes, its hard to explain. At the end of each bar, gis pinky hits, then his thumb. So hes playing octaves together, then seperately. Just look at his left hand and in sure youll see what i mean

OK thanks. I think I know what you're getting at.

For the right hand, I don't think he is doing octaves.  I can get the basic melody for the single notes.  Are the notes under it most likely thirds in your opinion?

23 minutes ago, loosecannon3 said:

OK thanks. I think I know what you're getting at.

For the right hand, I don't think he is doing octaves.  I can get the basic melody for the single notes.  Are the notes under it most likely thirds in your opinion?