Influenced Musicians Here?

I'm fearful of breaking any rules advertising the band I'm in so I've not mentioned them by name (I hope not anyway, I drink a lot) but was wondering who else here plays either as a bedroom player, pub player, club player, theatre, arena etc because of the influence GN'R had on their lives? 

Who bought the same guitar, drums as their idols etc? 

And most of all what did you take as said influence: structure, tone, style, overall sound...? 

• Like 2

I started playing the guitar in 93  my dad and my brother both played and I had not long got into GNR. I watched  the Tokyo show on VHS non stop and just loved everything about Slash , the image his amazing solos and the tone. In 94 I came across a Gibson Epiphone Les Paul Gold Top in the music store and I just had to buy it and got myself a cheap Marshall amp. Still got the guitar and I'm never getting rid of it. My biggest regret is giving up playing after a few years of playing in my bedroom. I still pick it up but can't find the time that I need to get back into it. 

12 minutes ago, Gold top 78 said:

I started playing the guitar in 93  my dad and my brother both played and I had not long got into GNR. I watched  the Tokyo show on VHS non stop and just loved everything about Slash , the image his amazing solos and the tone. In 94 I came across a Gibson Epiphone Les Paul Gold Top in the music store and I just had to buy it and got myself a cheap Marshall amp. Still got the guitar and I'm never getting rid of it. My biggest regret is giving up playing after a few years of playing in my bedroom. I still pick it up but can't find the time that I need to get back into it. 

Life gets in the way, but you can always get back into it when you have the time. Even if you manage to you know... play for 15 minutes a day, it's still something.

• Like 2

7 minutes ago, Rovim said: