Help with probability question

SoulMonster

Hmmm, it's not 35 I don't think. If straight calculation it would be roughly 14 blue balls but that's not correct as each ball has a 70% chance of being red. I would think most likely all balls would be red but that doesn't account for the 30% that could be blue. So maybe 70% of the 14 would still be red? 4 blue balls? Someone please shed some light on this non abstract mind of mine 😊

• Like 1

20 minutes ago, SoulMonster said:

That's how I calculated it, too. But I always have this nagging feeling I am doing it wrong :lol: Statistics do that to me. Thanks, though.

Ha, we're obviously both on the same page. To be honest I'm an accountant and one thing I've learned in my many years is that if you're confident in your numbers people accept them. They can't be bothered googling 'poisson distributed' ( I did but it looked too hard) they'd rather just accept it.

So the answer is 14. Unless anyone can show me a calculation that says it's wrong...

I believe if you pulled the balls from a hat one by one the answer would be different, much like the odds of getting red in roulette

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I think the 30% (14 blue balls) is too simple. The kicker is the "each" ball has a 70% chance of being red and a 30% chance of being blue. So most likely each ball would be red. This has bugged me. My dad is a mathematician and I'm going to send it to him. If he comes back with 14, I'll accept the 14 and blame law school. 

5 hours ago, SoulMonster said:

That's how I calculated it, too. But I always have this nagging feeling I am doing it wrong :lol: Statistics do that to me. Thanks, though.

That's how I would calculate it as well.  Not sure how else you would calculate it.  That's how we calculate poker odds, etc.  

4 hours ago, aliexpress said:

I believe if you pulled the balls from a hat one by one the answer would be different, much like the odds of getting red in roulette