Why The Ashba Hate?

Can someone explain to me why there is so much Ashba hate?

I admit that I have no problem with the guy. I like his live and studio versions of better where he adds his own take. I also like his GNR solo spots and the extra rev he added to the live version of This I love.

I can see some people finding his marketeering a bit crass. I don’t listen to his other stuff as I’m a Slash and Finck fan. The guy’s interview bravado is a bit annoying too, not to mention some stupid posts from his wife.

I rate Bucket, Slash & Finck over the other lead guitarists. Though Bumble is a nice guy, great player and arranger, his intended contribution to a GNR record seemed a bit naff. Admittedly I’ve not heard what Ashba wrote but Axl seemed keen and I rate Axl’s gut instinct over the other members.

I’m a basic guitarist, who loves music of many types, and has played a lot of instruments and sang over the years. I’ve not heard anything in Ashba’s playing that I fault. Are his critics musically literate enough to knock him? I’m not looking for a debate from any keyboard warrior, but if anyone is happy to discuss and clarify I’d greatly appreciate this please?

I also admit not to reading reams of posts.

• Like 1

28 minutes ago, DeperilsofrockNRollDekednz said:
Are his critics musically literate enough to knock him?

I doubt any of us are musically literate enough to decipher the pure non-conformist atonal blob of notes that is DJ Ashba's Patience outro solo - except for Tommy Stinson who was so amazed that he had to stop what he was doing to clap on stage when DJ brought that moment of pure genius out

Short answer; he's not Slash.

I personally preferred him to Robin Finck, especially on the older material - notably November Rain, where Finck was just an absolute shit show(in my opinion). I don't think classic songs like that are open to interpretation. Ashba played it a bit more by the book.