What kind of guitar meets these specifications?

Okay, I've been playing for about six years now, and in that time I've bought two different guitars, both of which I've regretted purchasing because I never bothered doing my research about what kind of guitar I wanted.

I want a guitar with 24 frets, where I can play heavy guitar solos, where I can pull off showy shit like divebombs etc but also one which will sound good doing rhythm playing.

Most of the stuff I play is Guns N Roses or Metallica. I know Slash plays a Les Paul, but would that be suited to playing Chinese Democracy tracks? What guitars did Buckethead and Finck use on CD?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by Towelie

Okay, I've been playing for about six years now, and in that time I've bought two different guitars, both of which I've regretted purchasing because I never bothered doing my research about what kind of guitar I wanted.

I want a guitar with 24 frets, where I can play heavy guitar solos, where I can pull off showy shit like divebombs etc but also one which will sound good doing rhythm playing.

Most of the stuff I play is Guns N Roses or Metallica. I know Slash plays a Les Paul, but would that be suited to playing Chinese Democracy tracks? What guitars did Buckethead and Finck use on CD?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

If you want to do a lot of divebombs, go with something with a Floyd Rose (Or install one yourself, as I did on my Strat).

What have you bought and regretted?

If you want to do a lot of divebombs, go with something with a Floyd Rose (Or install one yourself, as I did on my Strat).

My first guitar was a Dean Baby Z guitar. It was quite cool for playing some of the rocky solos, but it only had 22 frets and no whammy bar to do divebombs and stuff.

My second was a Fender Strat, which isn't great for playing harder rock like Metallica or Chinese Democracy tracks.