ChiDem Album Backorder at Bestbuy

axlrod

My sister lives in Annapolis-MD, she went to Bestbuy to have ChiDem but the store offers a backorder to be delivered in 2 weeks or 30days.

Chinese Democracy CD = $37.99

Chinese Democracy Sheet Music = $24.99

I just informed my sister to buy it at Amazon for $4.

Does anybody here works at Bestbuy and share us more information about the stocks?

Forgive me if this has been discussed at length here, and I'm sure it probably has, but what were they thinking when they made the album available exclusively throught Best Buy? I'm no marketing expert, but it seems a bit counterintuitive to make any product available through through only one retailer. On top of that, they didn't produce a video for any of the singles. Did they believe that name recognition and anticipation of the album were enough to promote it?

Forgive me if this has been discussed at length here, and I'm sure it probably has, but what were they thinking when they made the album available exclusively throught Best Buy? I'm no marketing expert, but it seems a bit counterintuitive to make any product available through through only one retailer. On top of that, they didn't produce a video for any of the singles. Did they believe that name recognition and anticipation of the album were enough to promote it?

It's pretty simple. Best Buy (or an exclusive company), pays the band, record company, etc., a certain amount of money to carry their CD, specifically to them only. Then, the band gets that much money, no matter what.

I am guessing they did it for the guaranteed profit through the deal.

As far as the OP goes, though, I have no idea what's up with that. There's no way the CD's list price is that high, and to the best of my knowledge, it's deleted in our system, so she shouldn't be able to order it through us anyway.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Chinese+Democracy+%28Japan%29+%28Shm%29+-+CD/19885178.p?id=2381846&skuId=19885178&st=chinese%20democracy&lp=2&cp=1