Email interview with Ryan Corey (Chinese Democracy's art director)

Thank you for joining and posting that  I've always wanted to hear more about the design of GN'R artwork (as I am a graphic designer myself). 

Can I ask, what prompted you to contact Ryan? Are you researching for a project, or thought you'd just try your luck?

The Chinese Democracy artwork is by far the best GN'R album art there is. I checked out his website and am impressed by the work- I've never had the chance to create album artwork at a professional level before, so that was really cool. 

12 minutes ago, Gracii Guns said:

Thank you for joining and posting that  I've always wanted to hear more about the design of GN'R artwork (as I am a graphic designer myself). 

Can I ask, what prompted you to contact Ryan? Are you researching for a project, or thought you'd just try your luck?

The Chinese Democracy artwork is by far the best GN'R album art there is. I checked out his website and am impressed by the work- I've never had the chance to create album artwork at a professional level before, so that was really cool. 

You're welcome!

As you say, I had just try my luck! I've always wanted to know more about this album. So, I contacted him and asked If I could send him the questions. 

I'm a content writer, so I do things like this all the time, haha!

• Like 1

This is really great, thanks for posting this and I have never sent any courier through you, but you did a great job in delivering this to us. 

Edited by Slash787

46 minutes ago, Bicem said:

Nice, does this basically prove a legit version of the hand grenade cover does not exist?

The Grenade cover was supposedly only given to the band/management/etc. and only a few have gotten out, probably one of the 'options' Axl was considering but ultimately got scrapped. All the discs in the Grenade version are just blank silver, I guess 'advance copies' is the term? The artwork is still cool either way.