Do you think Axl knew music theory?

I doubt it seriously, he did kinda say in certain interviews that he knew fuck all about music in any extensive sense of a lot of the time Chi Dem was being made was him getting to grips with certain shit, thats not an exact quote but I do remember something along those lines, a more knowledgable GnR fan could probably put me right here.

• Like 1

IIRC he's largely self taught on piano. And he's not very advanced based on what we've heard. Like a really great rock and ballad player, but not a solo concert pianist type. Are there any copies of musical notations written by Axl? That would be very telling one way or the other.

He learned to sing in choir and church.

If he were more versed in theory I suspect he would have been more capable of conveying his vision for the post 94 era. Then again, terms like modal playing, time signatures other than 4/4, dropped beats, half time feel, contrasting dynamics, etc, are words I figure would have a gone over Slash and Duffs heads anyways.

Was also intersting to hear Roberta talk about how Axl just let her make up all the BG vocals. Like a control freak like Axl who sometimes tells slash what to play. Who brought in Dizzy and Paul agasint everyones wishes. Who brought in the horns and singers... just decided to let her come up with the final product of the show?? Nah, I think he didnt know how to come up with and communicate them. Or lacked confidence to work with a trained musician on it at least.

• Like 1

He took piano lessons for a few years but said he didn't pay much attention to them (because they were kind of imposed on him) and played his own thing, so he didn't perfect his technique. He has mentioned that he played on sheet music, so I suppose he can read music at least.

He also said that a reason he used a fake orchestra for November Rain was that he wouldn't know how to work with a real orchestra.

27 minutes ago, soon said: