Modern Music

cantrell&vai

I cann't get into anyband around at the moment, or any band from the last 10 years because they are so bad. Modern music at the moment is terrible, it's all bland (barely) musiccians who all sound the same and can barely play guitar. What happened to killer riffs, killer guitar solos, vocals etc..? Has that died?

Seriously, i've been playing Guitar for about a year, and even i'd say i'm a better musician then any modern crappy band. It's as if they learned to play for abit, then stopped. It's all bland, and here are some examples...

Keane

Franz Ferdinand

WTF? How are they rock?

What happened to bands like Led Zeppelin, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, Van Halen?

The only modern band I listen to know is VR, but does that even count as they've already been around for 20 years?

At what point do any of your comments fit into GUNS N ROSES - DISCUSSION & NEWS

Use Anything Goes, then go into My World.

I agree, music is pretty poor just now, but having said that there is some good stuff out there, you've just to look for it, there is another thread similar to this Here

R.

IMO, lack of emphasis on lead guitar. A lot of bands now have two guys playing the same chords. I think there is too much emphasis on making the lyrics more meaningful, but this too many times result in stupid lyrics that are difficult to understand. Younger people may think differently, but growing up in the late 80s and 90's, I developed an interest in bands that had great guitar players. Until Green Day, Nirvana, etc. released hit songs, having a guitar player who couldn't really play was a liability. Good guitar didn't completely leave us when the 80s bands became unpopular, many of the bands that were considered to be "alternative" in the early 90s had decent guitarists that probably grew up idolizing the same guys that Slash did.