Jump to content

Led Zeppelin Prize


Recommended Posts

Loosely translated from spanish

On my newspaper it says "Nobel for Led Zeppelin". I got excited, but read on and it says some thing about a "polar musical prize" or whatever, from Stockholm. Can anyone explain this to me?

Edited by Yamisonic
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can say it's the nobel prize but in music.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig Anderson, one of the true

greats in the music life. As the publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA, he played a

key role in their enormous success. Anderson donated a large sum of money to The

Royal Swedish Academy of Music, The Stig Anderson Music Award Foundation in

The Royal Swedish Academy of Music, with the aim of creating what was to become

known as the Polar Music Prize.

Its name stems from Anderson’s legendary record label, Polar Records. It is an interna-

tional music prize and awarded to individuals, groups or institutions in recognition of

exceptional achievements in the creation and advancement of music. The prize breaks

down musical boundaries by bringing together people from all the different worlds of


The board of the Stig Anderson Music Award Foundation, consists of representatives

from the Stig Anderson family, SKAP (The Swedish Society of Popular Music Com-

posers) and STIM (The Swedish Performing Rights Society). The task of scrutinizing

nominations submitted and selecting the ultimate prizewinners is undertaken by an

Award Committee comprising of experienced members of the music industry.

Today, the Polar Music Prize has become one of the most prestigious music prize in the

world. The list of prize winners bears witness to this. Sir Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gilespie, Witold

Lutoslawski, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Quincy Jones, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Sir Elton John, Joni Mitchell,

Pierre Boulez, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Ericson, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Iannis Xenakis, Stevie

Wonder, Bob Dylan, Isaac Stern, Burt Bacharach, Robert Moog, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Sofia Gubaidulina,

Miriam Makeba, Keith Jarrett, B.B. King, György Ligeti, Gilberto Gil and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau

are the individuals who have been bestowed with the Prize since its inception in 1992.

In 1992, the Baltic States were also awarded the Prize to encourage them in their work

for protection of copy-right.

Each recipient receives a total amount of one million Swedish Crowns which is equiva-

ent to approximately USD 135.000 or EUR 110.000.

The prize is presented at the Stockholm Concert Hall by His Majesty King Carl XVI

Gustaf of Sweden to be followed by a celebratory banquet at Grand Hôtel.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest Ohdistortedsmile1789
Zepp deserves every prize they get.

Nope, not until we give everything they win to Willie Dixon as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...