Songwriting

I've trying to figure out what's the best way to write a song. I have no experience of it; but it seems that musicians/guitarist right riffs or music then when the music is done, a lyric guy comes in and sings something over the track.

I know this isn't always done like this but it seems quite common.

My thoughts have always been why don't they have an idea or an emotion or a story they want to capture then write music that fits the lyrics/ emotions.

Like I would imagine if you were the singer you would have a situation in your life then say I want to express this. I want to say this, now how do I say this best.

The other way is to have some guys coming up with sounds then you listen to it and say this goes with that. But it seems like a backwards technique.

The creative process is strange but does it dilute the original core of a song to have it in the mixer for too long?

Cobain: Music comes first, lyrics are secondary

(pause)

Grohl: My Sharona, what the hell is my Sharona?!?!

Novoselic: But it changed my life!

Grohl: My Sharona *mimes the beat*

but no, kidding aside, i really believe that. music is the whole point of it, musics where 70% or more of the power of a song is otherwise we'll just listen to Beat Poetry in quiet smoky clubs instead of rock n roll, the power is in the music. you can pretty much babble any inane wacky wordplay bullshit over a song (I am the Walrus) as long as you fit it well to the music it can sound incredible.

I've trying to figure out what's the best way to write a song. I have no experience of it; but it seems that musicians/guitarist right riffs or music then when the music is done, a lyric guy comes in and sings something over the track.

I know this isn't always done like this but it seems quite common.

My thoughts have always been why don't they have an idea or an emotion or a story they want to capture then write music that fits the lyrics/ emotions.