Harmonizing Leads on Guitar

Okay.. so I've been playing for 6 years.. I don't know how the hell to know what notes harmonize with what? Can anyone explain this in very simple terms? I know octaves sound good together yeah.. but like with different notes and stuff.. know what I mean?

And please, if you can refrain from saying like the scales using numbers, like perfect 5th, major 3rd, or that.. If that's possible. Those confuse me more. It'd be more easy for me, if you would like.. give an example like A harmonizes with blah blah blah.. I could work from there.

You need to learn you some theory, boy.

Don't use too many octaves together... that's parallel octaves and is a big theory no-no. It's ok in rock music IN MODERATION, but generally sounds bad in any other music, pretty much.

You're not going to get any responses unless you do your part and find out what a major 3rd or a perfect 5th, etc. is. It would take WAY too much time and effort to tell you every note that harmonizes nicely with every other note.

Basically, I urge you to stay diatonic (meaning, in the key). With that in mind, I urge you to be a third, a fifth, a fourth, or a sixth up from the lower note you are harmonizing. A third would mean two diatonic (in the key) notes above the note you are hitting. A fifth would mean four diatonic notes above the note you are hitting, etc.

Hope that helps. I really REALLY ureg you to learn some theory, though. I recomend "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory." It is a FANTASTIC theory book, and makes it really easy to understand. To really gain something out of it, though, you should do the exercises at the end of each chapter.

Oh, also keep in mind that you should not do too many fifths above the lower note when harmonizing. If you do too many in a row, that is parallel 5ths and is also a big no-no. So, minimize the number of octaves and the number of 5ths.

Edited by DirtyDeeds