How good is the guitar work in the New GnR Songs? An Offical Analysis

SylvesterStallone

Here we go, at the risk of beating a dead horse or having this topic moved to dust n bones, let me preface this by saying it's not a comparison between old and new.

How good is the guitar riffage and playing in the new songs and are they memorable? Do they add life to the songs or are they by the numbers and blend into the song rather than standing out and enhancing it?

I'd like the opinions of ACTUAL guitar players...

Well it cuts out all the hearsay fanboy bullshit like "The guitar work is amazing...it sounds great to me!!11" "Better has a better riff than SCOM!"...you know stuff like that. It's one thing to like something, and entirely another to write hyperbolic shit. The guitar players will get straight to the point and tell it like it is.

Well neither old material or the new material are exactly hard to play. As a guitarist I'd have to say the guitarwork in the old songs is more complicated than the new songs-but that's not really saying much. Whereas the old material is more riff based, most of the new material is not. They're both equally as catchy in my opinion, especially the ending solo bit on 'TWAT.' The new songs guitarwork is alot more lightweight than on the old songs. I also found that the guitarwork on the new songs is far more repetive than the guitarwork on the old songs. The guitarwork is more varied in the old songs than the new songs as they seem a little too obsessed with long bends and shred.

well, let's see

Madagascar - love the song, not really guitar driven.

The Blues - the lead lines are very memorable. when you sing the song in your head, you can hum the guitar parts. good job. now, in '02, the guitar "tone" sounded like shit, but i'll wait till i hear the studio version before i bash that.

I.R.S. - nothing mindblowing, but the riff is really good and the way Axl plays off of it with the lyrical structure is really cool.