2Pac uses Marlon Brando and Axl Rose to deny that he's a gangster rapper

Guest NGOG

Guest NGOG

Marlon Brando is a not a gangster actor, he's an actor. Axl Rose and them are not are not gangster rock n' rollers they're rock n' rollers right? I'm a rapper. This is what I do, I'm an artist.

Guest NGOG

Pac, Brando and Axl - I couldn't think of a greater trio. Must be a tremendous honor for Axl to be held in such regard by an icon of society.

Guest Len B'stard

Despite being one of his biggest fans, i dont see his point because he, on and off record and in his spare time said that that was his thing, a certain lifestyle and a certain mode of thinking and being. I mean at times it was like thats where i came from, who i was but not always, especially in those Strictly 4 My hooray for tolerance!z and Thug Life days.

I understand what he's saying. When I think gangster rap, the first two names that come into my mind are Ice-T and Eazy-E. Tupac no doubt has gangsta rap songs, but he's not gangsta in the same way as Ice and Eazy.

Edited by Randy Lahey

Guest Len B'stard

I gotta admit man, i loved the fuckin lot of it but he was just the bollocks in every sense in that just pre-Me Against the World era, with the Karl Kani gear and stocking hats and blunts hanging out with the bay area boys and generally acting/behaving like mischief on a stick.

Marlon Brando only had one role in which he played a gangster, and it was quite different from the typical portrayal of a mafioso. Axl also didn't have any connection with that environment and where he presented US inner city realities he portrayed himself more as a victim rather than a player in the game; Jungle is the GNR song that comes even remotely close to what you would call a gangsta-rock song and it's still extremely far from gangsta rap.

Bad comparison.

Guest Len B'stard