Is "Street Of Dreams" underrated?

GunsNRevolvers2

First off, I liked the name The Blues much much much better...considering it's used in the chorus at least.

Now, on topic, alot of people really dig Prostitute and This I Love, but where is the love for Street Of Dreams? I feel that it definitely surpasses Prostitute (which I love btw) and easily is on par with This I Love. Granted I have been listening to it since about 2004, and it has always been one of my favorite ChiDem songs...but overall it's a really catchy song, and I'm definitely surprised it was never released as a single, also considering the fact that it really features Axl's "mainstream recognized" voice and tone..unlike the title track "Chinese Democracy" which we all know was released as the first single, and was heavily criticized by mainstream fans saying, "it doesnt sound like Axl, it sucks" (even though the dual layer vocals in the verses had Axls higher pitched voice and his low tone -_-)

So yeah, any takers?

His vocals are awful on it, as he sounds old and whiney the first verse. Not to mention they ended up neutering the final version taking the guitar out of the intro. I think the song came off as too soft, there was just really no edge to it. When you compare it to something like don't cry, it just felt like it was missing something.

I still don't understand the hate for the final version, and I doubt I ever will. From a musical standpoint, the final version is vastly superior. More contour to the song, and it's a song that definitely benefits from contour. Granted Axl's vocals were better in '02, but all things considered I prefer the final version.

Pertaining to the topic, I think a lot of people sort of overlook it due to the fact that some of us originally heard it 9 years ago. Prostitute and This I Love, while having been known of for longer, are much fresher to our ears, with Prostitute leaking less than 2 years ago, and This I Love not leaking at all.