Sad state of affairs

tbaugerud

I've been coming to this board for several years and I believe I'm one of the seniors on here. Back in 2005 we were all so excited and optimistic. Many alike me on here used to be invaluable members and could only be described as die-hards. Madison, Username, Kaneda etc etc.

But after many years in limbo and ultimately disappointments, many have lost touch with the band. The so-called Nu GnR fans on here have become - in my view - the dominant force. Stupid morons more interested in technical ability than musicality. I guess they all hate The Rolling Stones, Aerosmith, Elton John, AC/DC etc etc etc. Jerks.

Anyway, my point is this.

People seem divided on whether Axl/GnR actually OWES us anything. In my opinion OF COURSE they do. We put food on their tables, a car in their garage etc etc. Without its fans, a band or a football club is nothing. If you treat your fans badly, they might not quit being a fan, but does that make it right to beat the shit out of a kid because "he doesn't tell on you"?

If the willingness to meet the fanbase's wish was just a little bit bigger than it is today, no one would complain.

Only Axl Rose refuses to do so. How about just recording a studio jam on the fly in a studio a couple of times a year? Then release it through their website. By NO MEANS Axl, would it have to be an "official release". Just record it and call it "Cocksucker Blues" or whatever. And PLEASE, do stress that it was made in a hurry and that years of over-production was therefore impossible.

A song like "Used to love her" could easily surface from such a session, and the Lies-songs were indeed made at least halfway like that.

Is it so hard for a musical group to string a song together every now and then? Just a little teaser until the next masterpiece record is ready to drop?

I guess it's hard for some of the newer fans to appreciate my views, but I think they're brainwashed by the musical genious that is Axl Rose.