Has anybody else seen Spring Breakers?

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Looked like it had potential, aside from the bozo female actors. What would you rate it at, Randy? Maybe I'll try to check it out this weekend.

I'm not very good at rating things. It was a 5 out of 5 for me but it might be a 1 out of 5 for you. I can say that at the very least you will enjoy James Franco's performance. I would describe this movie as a satirical drugged out dreamy trip thru the modern world of pop culture. Imagine if poor unfamous college versions of Britney, Paris, Nicole and Lindsay went on a Girls Gone Wild and Natural Born Killer's style Spring Break trip to Miami together and hooked up with a drug dealer/rapper/wigger wannabe Scarface type named Alien.

spring-breakers-james-franco-as-alien-.j

Edited by Randy Lahey

Guest Len B'stard

Harmony Korine the director also wrote Kids and Ken Park and i think although i might be wrong had something to do with the movie Thirteen so on the strength of that i'll probably have a peek.

Edited by sugaraylen

From the trailers and the promo stuff I've seen I don't know of a movie that I've felt less compelled to watch in a long time. It just looks really bad to me and the casting of the female leads just reeks of teenyboppers wanting to be taken seriously. It's like casting Justin Beiber in another remake of Get Carter for fucks sake. Maybe I'm just getting old but Selena Gomez just isn't hot at all. I mean she's stunning and all that but just not in a sexual way. I'd feel like I should be locked up for cranking one out over her.

Guest Len B'stard