Becoming good with money.

Gracii Guns

A short back story on me: I've never been a good saver, and even as a child I'd rather spend the little pocket money I had rather than save it. As a student, I spent most of three years living off my (approved) overdraft- as many students do. I've had a modestly (but not uncomfortably) paid job for the last few years, but I haven't got out of my bad financial habits from my student years. I will only check my bank balance when a paper statement comes through the door, and although I have internet banking, I'm too scared to check- even though it's not going to be horrendous.

Last year I have managed to save up almost £2k in my ISA, I've cleared my credit card every month without fail, and always glance over my bank statement as soon as it comes through the door instead of leaving it unopened. I've dipped into my overdraft a little, but I'm always back in the black within a few days. I don't spend much on food, but have cut my grocery budget down so much that I'm losing weight for the first time in years.

I never buy anything extravagant, but I always seem to spend more than I can sensibly afford, plus have much left to go into savings (and saving is important for me right now).

Has anyone been in a similar situation and managed to break the bad habits? Can you offer any advice which will stick for someone who isn't numerically minded, and couldn't operate an excel spreadsheet past a basic level if her life depended on it?

Thanks for reading, all advice is appreciated. :)